About the Liga MX

Liga MX is the top level of the Mexican football system which was established in 1943. As of 2012 Liga MX had 18 clubs participating in a 2 tournament season. The tournaments are called the Apertura and the Clausura. Each tournament is a 17 week tournament where the top 8 teams move to the Liguilla. The Liguilla is a two-leg aggregate-score. If there is a tie in a Liguilla match after the 2nd game the higher seed moves on to the next round. In the final a tie forces extra time of two 15 minute periods and penalty kicks if needed. Relegation is also used in Liga MX. At the end of each season one team is relegated to Ascenso MX which allows one team from Ascenso MX to be promoted in their place. Relegation is determined by the lowest ratio of points-per-game-played for each team for the past 3 seasons.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s